Don’t get me wrong.  I have an amazing husband.  B makes sure I am never without and let me tell you I need a ladder to get off the pedestal he puts me on.  But what I mean is I am soooo tired of the cold!  In Texas we are thawing out the over 11 inches of snow we just had dumped on us!

It was a fun in theory, but the cold and I are not friends.  So today was one of those cold, dreary days that made us all kind of go crazy!  B took me out last night to celebrate V day so today we stayed in with the kids.  It seemed more cooped up as the day went on though, and I swear my core temp never got above chill!

For breakfast I knew the day was going to be filled with sweets and sugar so I stared with some Fiber One cereal.  Not too filling, and just I felt good with the fiber count to sustain me until lunch.  Then B’s dad made a visit with a box of chocolates for all three of us girls, and donuts!  I stayed away from the fried dough, and had half a jalapeño sausage roll instead.  Mmmm!

For lunch I decided to cook up some garlic and herb shrimp and mix it in some veggies for an awesome yummy salad!  My bowl looks dirty, but it’s the dumb camera.

I added broccoli, tomato, sliced mushroom, and cucumber.  After a drizzle of Maple Grove Farms Fat Free balsamic it was ready to eat.  The shrimp helped take me away to a warmer climate, if only for a few minutes.

The day went on and to avoid the Valentine candy galore screaming at me from the kitchen:

I whipped up a quick snack.  I toasted a Thomas Light English Muffin and spread on a Laughing Cow Cheese Wedge.  A few grapes to finish and to satisfy the sweet tooth I was happy.

I also enjoyed a fugi apple a couple of hours later.  The V day candy did win once or twice though, but c’mon!  Chocolate isn’t all bad when it’s dark and full of anti-oxidants…right?  Agree with me please!

For dinner we threw together some quick and easy tacos.  Much of what we cook with a 5 and 2 year old running around is quick and easy.  But the content is always considered in everything that is prepared in our house.  If you are expecting to read about unique and inspiring meal ideas that are not found in any cook book, then stop now.  I am an average working mom from Texas who doesn’t have a lot of time to waste until bed time so we make it happen.  What makes me different is the simple things have been thought out and being health conscious is my number one priority.  So back to tacos.  Using Mission Carb Balance Whole Wheat Tortillas at only 80 calories a piece with 12 g of fiber (!) and stuffing it with Jenny-O’s Extra Lean ground turkey seasoned for tacos it became dinner.  I filled mine with tomatoes, lettuce, and mushrooms.  I also sprinkled some Kraft fat free shredded cheddar along with some salsa.  A side of fat free re-fried beans (not pictured) round off the meal.  The kids scarfed it up and our bellies were full.

For my evening snack, I decided on a Deep Chocolate VitaTop, topped with strawberries, blueberries, and a couple of scoops of Dreyer’s Fat Free Yogurt Blends!

Well people, I have enjoyed this day in blogging 101.  I hope this can continue and it will help relieve my obsession with all things food!  Off to spend some quality time with my hubby!

