I had a great Saturday peoples!  I awoke to the sounds of Baby girl jumping into bed at 7 am saying “Hi Mommy!”  How could I ignore a the salutations of a happy, little curly headed child?  Well I did try.  I just couldn’t convince her to lay down with me long enough to go back to sleep.  Plus once I am up, I am up.  So I started my Saturday early making coffee, and making the girls raisin pancakes!  It made their morning…no photos though, I did not have any.

I wanted to eat the lonely oatmeal packet I took back with me from our Oklahoma trip last weekend.  That’s right, I smuggled oatmeal from the hotel.  I had taken it from the continental breakfast bar the hotel offered thinking I was going to eat it one night as a dessert with some peach yogurt, but it never happened.

I destroyed consumed the evidence though without too much guilt.

1 packet Quaker Regular Oatmeal

1 TBSP milled flaxseed

a sprinkle of raisins

cinnamon, and more cinnamon

tip of my spoon of Almond Butter

I started some laundry, showered, did the dishes, swept and mopped the floor which included pulling out the fridge!  Oooh!  Treasures!  With kids, crayons are like weeds and they spring up in any and every place imaginable!

We also headed to the grocery store.  Our goal this week it to make meals that we can have plenty of leftovers with.  We are trying to stretch the almighty dollar as far as it will go.  Damn!  I might need to suggest a rubber currency so that could be a little bit easier!  We picked up stuff for chicken tacos, baked apricot chicken, pasta meals with turkey Italian sausage, and homemade pizzas with La Tortilla Wraps.

When we got home I was starved for lunch.  I quickly made a turkey melt with a La Tortilla high fiber tortilla.  I threw in some mesquite smoked turkey and a slice of reduced fat colby and heated it up on the stove until the cheese had melted.  Of course I added in salsa and some Mediterranean Lentil Chips on the side.  Have anyone ever had these lentil chips before?  I picked them up at Marshall’s one day and have never looked back!  30 chips are 110 calories and only 3 grams of fat they are made from, you guessed it!  Lentils!  Great source of fiber and protein!  They are also gluten free.

Mmmm!

My snack this afternoon was a 1/4 cup low fat cottage cheese and sliced strawberries.

Big girl and I went for a walk before dinner this evening.  It has been raining all day but there was a break in all the rain so we took off.  Wouldn’t you know it though as soon as we left our street it started to rain again!  She didn’t care so neither did I it was fun!  She got to splash in all the puddles and we ran some of the way home too, so it was a quick but enjoyable walk for the two of us.

Dinner was being prepared when we got home and B was making pizzas!  He had cut up broccoli and bell pepper for my pie.  Also adding in some lean sliced ham strips for protein.  Using tortillas as our pie crusts, they were excellent!  The best part it we will have enough to make this again in the next few days, so not really left overs, but repeat worthy on the same dime is a win in my book!

Baby girl took one look at my pizza and snatched a piece of broccoli at the same time I snapped my picture.

Broccoli thief!

Now she likes a lot of veggies which I love, however, if I tried to feed them to her she would probably refuse so I am content with sharing as long as she eats them!

It’s getting late and I am going to enjoy whats left of my day, so good night blog land!

